Books in the Middle: Reading for Middle School

Our focus is on books middle school students might like to read and topics pertaining to books for these students, and we are giving recommendations. Teachers, librarians and middle school students are the contributors to this blog. Enjoy!

Guest Blogger – Mrs. Ferroli 7th Grade LA teacher November 20, 2012

Filed under: Science Fiction Books — oneilllibrary @ 2:32 pm
Tags: , ,

I just finished reading UnWholly written by Neal Shusterman. UnWholly is the sequel to Unwind.

       

 

Although I enjoy series, I often think the best book of the series is the first book. I enjoyed Unwind, however, I LOVED UnWholly. I liked that the book continued the story of several of the main characters from the first book and also introduced a few new characters that should have an integral role in the third book. Although I found the book to be dark and actually had to put the book down and walk away from it at times, I really enjoyed the last 200 pages. My only frustration is having to wait until Fall of 2013 for the third book, UnSouled.  🙂

 

2 Responses to “Guest Blogger – Mrs. Ferroli 7th Grade LA teacher”

  1. I am reading UnWholly right now and I, too, agree – I am enjoying it so much more than Unwind! I I don’t often like when books are made into movies but this series needs to be a movie!!
    The new characters definitely bring a darker element to the characters from Unwind. I can’t wait to find out how it ends, especially for Cam. I am not a big sci-fi reader but this book could win me over for that genre. This book is action packed for those readers who need action from the beginning of the book. I recommend reading Unwind just to get to UnWholly. I can only hope the next book is going to be even better!

  2. Phill Klamm Says:

    I didn’t know there was a sequel to UnWind. You just made my day. Thanks for sharing this!


Leave a Reply

