Books in the Middle: Reading for Middle School

Our focus is on books middle school students might like to read and topics pertaining to books for these students, and we are giving recommendations. Teachers, librarians and middle school students are the contributors to this blog. Enjoy!

Don’t Read All At Once November 29, 2012

So I started reading this book on a road trip with my family. At first I was sharing bits and pieces with my husband, but as the hours and pages rolled by, he asked, no BEGGED me to stop. Frankly, it became a bit depressing! Now, don’t get me wrong, this is a fabulous, informative, funny (parts are laugh out loud funny), engaging book that is hard to stop reading…until you get a queasy feeling. So, seriously, you read this book and you’ll never wish to go back in time again, if you ever did! Or at least go back into a time where there were no antibiotics, dentists with novocaine or how about doctors who washed their hands! This book looks at nineteen deaths of famous folks from Edgar Allan Poe to Cleopatra to James Garfield and really more gory details about their ends then you probably ever wanted to know. How They Croaked: The Awful Ends of the Awfully Famous by Georgia Bragg is one book you won’t ever forget reading, but take my advice. Spread it out over a few days, unless you are good at handling lots of gore, guts and and gagging, or and don’t forget bodily fluids.

Recommended for mature (for the gross out factor and sarcastic writing style) 6th graders and up.

 

One Response to “Don’t Read All At Once”

  1. I had the opposite effect – I started reading this book to find out only about Edgar Allan Poe and I had to read more! I ended up reading about every single person in this book! This book does talk about a lot of gross stuff but it’s definitely interesting! I like being about to skip around and pick who I wanted to read about instead of having to go page by page.


Leave a Reply

