Books in the Middle: Reading for Middle School

Our focus is on books middle school students might like to read and topics pertaining to books for these students, and we are giving recommendations. Teachers, librarians and middle school students are the contributors to this blog. Enjoy!

Extreme Earth! December 9, 2012

I love watching tsunami, hurricane, earthquake and any type of natural disaster shows on TV. As soon as I find one while flipping through the channels, I have to watch it. I especially enjoy real videos of the disasters – it really is amazing to see Mother Nature in action. When I came across Seymour Simon’s Extreme Earth Records book, I knew this was my type of book!                              

In this book, you can read about the extreme places on Earth – the coldest, hottest, deepest, and rainiest. There are pictures of all these extreme places along with explanations of what it is like there. In the back of the book there are sections about notable earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, and tsunamis. Since this book was published this year, it does have information about the earthquake and resulting tsunami that struck Japan in 2011.

This is a quick and easy nonfiction book that captured my interest. I read it cover to cover in one sitting and learned about a few places I had never heard of. I recommend this book for anyone from 5th grade up to adults. It’s pretty fascinating to read about extreme places that we can probably never visit!

 

Leave a Reply

