Books in the Middle: Reading for Middle School

Our focus is on books middle school students might like to read and topics pertaining to books for these students, and we are giving recommendations. Teachers, librarians and middle school students are the contributors to this blog. Enjoy!

5 Stars for The Fault In Our Stars December 30, 2012

I am a pretty tough book critic. It takes a lot for me to rate a book 5 out of 5 stars. At first, I wasn’t even sure if I would like The Fault In Our Stars by John Green so I didn’t read it right away. I was hearing a lot of buzz about the book from students, other teachers, and online. I saw this book on several top 10 book lists. It was calling my name just like Twilight and The Hunger Games. When I hear a book title over and over again, I have to read it.

There’s a pretty good reason why I was hearing about The Fault In Our Stars (TFIOS) so much…it’s an awesome story!!!! This book is getting 5 out of 5 stars from me! I am even going to go as far as to buy my own copy (the one I read was from the library) and read it again. I may even highlight my favorite quotes or parts.


Hazel Grace Lancaster, 17, has cancer. She doesn’t go to school and has to push around an oxygen tank to help her breathe. She wants to sit at home and watch TV but her mom nags her to be a teenager and go out. The only place Hazel usually goes to is a cancer support group to make her mom happy. At a meeting, Hazel meets Augustus Waters. Once you meet Augustus, you will fall in love with this character, just like Hazel does. Augustus changes Hazel’s life – that’s all I can say because I don’t want to give away any spoilers. As a matter of fact, I knew nothing about the book when I began reading it. I think that made me appreciate the story so much more.

I will tell you this: you will laugh as Hazel, Isaac, and Augustus sarcastically take on cancer and being sick. You will also cry – this story is beautifully tragic. This book is about friendship, love, heroes, and overcoming challenges in life. There are some mature parts so I recommend this book for mature readers.

 

3 Responses to “5 Stars for The Fault In Our Stars”

  1. Lauren Horn Says:

    You sound like my female students who are OBSESSED with this book. They too quote it all the time and I wouldn’t be surprised if they had their own TFiOS little journals! Glad you enjoyed it! Do you think it’s a book that sixth graders could grasp?

  2. bhomel Says:

    There are so many great lines in this book. Have them post their favorite quotes or thoughts about the book here for me!
    Personally, I don’t see this be an easy book for 6th graders and even some middle school students. I do recommend it for older students and mature students – there’s a lot of sarcasm and in depth explanations that aren’t literal. The characters are older -17 and have high school type issues.

  3. juliana Says:

    i wanna read this book because i love romance books and im curious about augustus and hazel


Leave a Reply

