Books in the Middle: Reading for Middle School

Our focus is on books middle school students might like to read and topics pertaining to books for these students, and we are giving recommendations. Teachers, librarians and middle school students are the contributors to this blog. Enjoy!

New Year Reading Resolutions January 6, 2013

Filed under: Science Fiction Books — bhomel @ 8:41 pm
Tags: , ,

Today is the eve of winter break. We will count down the hours until school is back in session tomorrow. Upon returning, I can’t wait to share the good news with my students – I made my goal of reading 100 books in 2012!

It was a close one for me. I hit the 90s in December and I was running out of time. My students told me I could do it. Kendall said, “I think you can make it if you put your mind to it.” Jessie had some great advice for me. She said, “…you will have to read a little faster than you read right now.” I can’t believe how many students really believed in me! Tammer, Kashiya, Jayla, Steven, Gracie, Jero, Mya, and Nita all said I could do it. Danny even said, “You will definitely make the 100 books!”

With them behind me, I knew I had to make my goal – not just for myself but for my students! So I did it – and it was the first time in my life I read that much in one year, honestly. When I finished my 100th book – I was very proud and excited that I made it.

Once 2013 began, I had to think about making a new reading resolution, or goal. I want to be a better reader in 2013 than I was in 2012. This year I am going to try and read 120 books! (That’s 10 books a month) I know it’s going to be a challenge but it is something I really want to do. I also want to kick it up a notch and try to read more types of books I usually don’t read – nonfiction, fantasy, mystery, and maybe a classic or two. (recommendations welcomed!)

Here are some of the books on my 2013 to read list:

                                

Now it’s YOUR TURN! Make a reading resolution for yourself. Make a goal that you will honestly try to accomplish.

How many books can you push yourself to read a month?
How many books will you read before the school year is over? (About 22 weeks left)
Will you try to set a goal for the entire year of 2013?

Maybe you don’t want to focus on a specific number but make a different kind of resolution – read more of a certain genre or read at least one book is a bunch of genres?

Try a new genre?

Maybe you have a series you really want to start or finish?

Maybe you want to read longer books? More challenging books?

What can you do to be a better reader this year?

Whatever your reading resolution is, share it here!

 

28 Responses to “New Year Reading Resolutions”

  1. Lauren Horn Says:

    Mrs. Homel- awesome job meeting your goal! It’s great that your students helped you to sty positive and meet it! Great to-read list for 2013, I have a ton of those on my list as well!

  2. kashiya smith Says:

    My 2013 reading goal, is to read 13 books. It really doesn’t matter what genres they are in, i am into a lot of boos and they are in different genres. I’m going to try to read everyday get books that i really like for me to read 13 before school is over. I want to read the series of The Summer I Turned Pretty and finish the series of The Hunger Games. I only have the read Mockingjay.

  3. Ashley Says:

    I will try to read 30 books this year. i will check books out and read them every other day.

  4. shaun Says:

    I am going to try and read 40 books this year consisting of nonfiction, fiction,historical fiction, and mystery. I will reach that number because I have to read an hour a day, so ill just start keeping track of what I read, by writing down what i read on a sheet of paper.

  5. Tammer A. Says:

    My goal for the year 2013 will be to read more graphic novels than ever. In fact, my goal is to read at least 35 books this year. Everyday, once I go to bed, I have a bookshelf next to my bed to read. I will keep track by writing a list of books on a piece of paper and keep it on my folder.

  6. Izabel M Says:

    The genre that I want to read that is mystery because I don’t really read it and I like to try something new. I only read mystery one time.

  7. Dan Sadowski Says:

    In this year 2013, could try 20 books because I can be busy for any holiday or family occasions. Once or twice a month reading. The past years, I can’t keep track on book counting. Today I could have time remembering each book. Bookmarks should be in stock at school or store. I could go before or after summer break but doesn’t really matter. I have plenty books at home to start or finish. I can accomplish this goal if I focus on school.

  8. Urte Verkelyte Says:

    This year, my goal is going to be 30 books. I’m going to try to read 30 books, but I don’t know if I will finish it.

    • Urte Verkelyte Says:

      I will read all types of genres. I will read it in the whole year. I might read 15 books before school ends. If I finish a book in 2 weeks, I will probably finish 15 books.

  9. rose hamdan Says:

    A genre i will read most about is more realistic fiction. I keep track of my books by writing them in my closet, on my wall.My mom said its fine to keep track of books.My goal is to read 50 books this year.I know its to high,but in fluency i can read 160 words per minute. I can do it, im becoming a better reader!

  10. Jessie Says:

    I think i am going to read 30 books until the end of the year, I think i am going to try to read fantasy, and mystery more because those are the books i tend to finish a lot fast then other genres

  11. Danny King Says:

    Great job on reading 100 books in 2012! I know that you can reach 120 books this year because of your speed and love of reading! My goal this year is to read 60 books. The reason I chose that number because I want to be able to understand the book as much as I can! I will separate the genres by 20’s. All this time, I have said I hate the Harry Potter Novels, even though I have never read them! So I am going to try to see if I really hate.

  12. steven Says:

    For this new year i would like to read more historical book once a week and try to read 2 books at the same time.

  13. jayla Says:

    This year I will try to read more nonfiction books.I’m going to try and read 2 nonfiction book by the in of the school year.

  14. Gracie Januszewski Says:

    This year i really want to read 13 at least one a month

  15. Mya Says:

    Wow! Nice job Mrs.Homel..! My goal is to at least read 3-5 books throughout the next 5 mounts of school.

  16. Ariana Says:

    I will try to read 15 books

  17. Ryan Domingo Says:

    I never thought anyone could read 100 book. That inspires me to do better I think I want to do at least between 5-10 books by the end of the year and thats a lot for because I don’t read at all.

  18. Jero Ramiah Says:

    This year my goal is to read 30 books. I am going to read lot’s of fiction and graphic novels. I think i can read 30 books for this year.

  19. Nita Says:

    My goal before the school is over is probably 5 i’ll try to read more if i can! And for me it doesn’t matter what kind of genres they are if i like the book i will read it!.

  20. ghahn2012 Says:

    I’m in! My specific goal is to write down all of the books that I read this year. I have no idea where to start so I’m going to stick with you at 120- but the real challenge will be recording them! Happy reading in 2013.

  21. It’s awesome to go to see this web page and reading the views of all friends about this post, while I am also zealous of getting know-how.

  22. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this write-up and also the rest of the site is very good.

  23. Credit cards that offer a low balance transfer rate often have a higher rate for any spending
    on the credit card. The only thing ought to be kept in mind that switching
    to a new lender is surely helpful.

  24. Wilbert Says:

    Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wondering your situation; many of us have developed some nice procedures and we
    are looking to exchange techniques with other folks, why not shoot me
    an email if interested.

  25. Daryl Says:

    I pay a visit every day a few web pages and websites to read articles,
    but this webpage offers feature based posts.

  26. Elisabeth Says:

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on
    the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and
    visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Superb work! Cheers!


Leave a Reply

