Books in the Middle: Reading for Middle School

Our focus is on books middle school students might like to read and topics pertaining to books for these students, and we are giving recommendations. Teachers, librarians and middle school students are the contributors to this blog. Enjoy!

See TEN become ONE… January 8, 2013

Filed under: Mystery and Ghost Stories,Romance — lhorn1217 @ 9:37 am
Tags: , , ,

11958033

Ten written by: Gretchen McNeil

When I first read the information for this book it read “Lord of the Flies meets Gossip Girl” and instantly I KNEW it was right up my alley. There were also quite a few comparisons to And Then There Were None, a novel I haven’t read just yet, but was planning on it after hearing many colleagues praise the text. Well, I will say that Ten by Gretchen McNeil lived up to my expectations 100%, I really couldn’t put it down. And though the story is a mystery about ten teens who go off to a remote island of sorts, in hopes to party during their time away from their parents, and individually they start dropping like flies, I really didn’t deem it to be as “dark” as some of the other mysteries I have been reading. The author does a great job intertwining some romance and typical high school drama and really developed her characters well. All the while, giving your clues to attempt to solve the mystery right along with the characters that are actually facing death. I was a little hesitant in the last 40 pages, but the author did a really nice job with the ending, being something not-predictable, but at the same time satisfying. A great book for middle school and high school students. A few mentions of some more mature content, but nothing major by any means! A fabulous and thrilling read 🙂

 

One Response to “See TEN become ONE…”

  1. Sydney White Says:

    This book is mysterious and I like that it seems right up my alley!


Leave a Reply

