Books in the Middle: Reading for Middle School

Our focus is on books middle school students might like to read and topics pertaining to books for these students, and we are giving recommendations. Teachers, librarians and middle school students are the contributors to this blog. Enjoy!

7th Grade Guest Blogger – Katie A. March 31, 2013

I loved this book! I originally picked up One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies by Sonya Sones because I had just read What My Mother Doesn’t Know – also by the same author.

This book is about a girl named Ruby. You can probably tell by the title, but her mother passes away. This 15 year old is forced to move to L.A with her father, who she has never met, and absolutely hates because he abandoned her and her mother. What’s different about her father, Whip, he’s a super famous movie star. Ruby has to leave her best friend, Lizzie and her boyfriend, Ray.

When she gets to Whip’s mansion, her entire life is flipped around. She gets whatever she wants including her dream room and so much more. The only thing is that she still hasn’t seen the good side of Whip. Ruby is forced to go to a new high school and to spend time with the horrible Whip. She emails her boyfriend, best friend and even deceased mother everyday, but its just not the same. Will Ruby finally warm up to Whip? Is he even really the bad guy? Read this amazing book to find out!

Like I said, I really liked it. Personally, I like books that get straight to the point. That’s one of the reasons I liked this book, it got straight to the point. I would recommend this book to anyone, although it’s a little bit more on the girly side, I think boys could read it too. Like I said, it’s poetry so if you like poetry or novels in verse, you should read it!

 

2 Responses to “7th Grade Guest Blogger – Katie A.”

  1. lhorn1217 Says:

    Katie-
    I got the chance to read this book over spring break and I would have to agree- I thought it was fabulous! It’s a great book that doesn’t have a single slow moment and I could not put it down!

  2. Sonya Sones Says:

    Thanks for the lovely review! And guess what? I just finished my next novel and it stars Ruby’s new school friend, Colette. It’s called To Be Perfectly Honest (A Novel Base on an Untrue Story) and it will be coming out in August. Here’s a sneak peek of the first page: http://www.sonyasones.com/wp/whats-new/2011/poetry-friday-a-sneak-peek-of-the-first-poem-in-my-new-ya-novel/
    xx,
    Sonya


Leave a Reply

