Books in the Middle: Reading for Middle School

Our focus is on books middle school students might like to read and topics pertaining to books for these students, and we are giving recommendations. Teachers, librarians and middle school students are the contributors to this blog. Enjoy!

Guest Blogger-7th Grader Alex B. March 19, 2013

The Endurance: Shackleton’s Legendary Antarctic Expedition  by Caroline Alexander is a heart pounding, non-stop survival story about the crew of The Endurance. They were stuck all alone in the Antarctic wild with low food and supplies. This book states how the groups come together to try and survive. How will they do the hardest task of all time? By working together!

I picked to read The Endurance because it sounded like a good book that I would like. It really left a huge hole in my heart for more books about survival. Because of this book, any story about adventure and survival- I have to read it. I think the best part of this book was that the way they worked together was amazing. I think anyone who likes books with adventure and survival would love this book. I think anyone can read it. I did not find it difficult to read.

 

One Response to “Guest Blogger-7th Grader Alex B.”

  1. Alex, if you like survival books, you NEED to come see me in the library. You might want to read Shipwreck at the Bottom of the World, which is about The Endurance. Also, you might want to get into reading books about mountain climbing. Those can be intense! I can recommend some of those to you too. I’m so glad you enjoyed this book, because I can be a bit of a survival junkie myself.


Leave a Reply

