Books in the Middle: Reading for Middle School

Our focus is on books middle school students might like to read and topics pertaining to books for these students, and we are giving recommendations. Teachers, librarians and middle school students are the contributors to this blog. Enjoy!

7th Grade Guest Blogger – Kora M. April 7, 2013

The book I read is Love, Aubrey by Suzanne Lafleur and it’s 262 pages and the genre is realistic fiction.

This book is about a girl who loses her sister, Savannah, and her dad in a car accident. Luckily, she and her mom were lucky enough to survive, but with some mild injuries. As months pass, her mom is dealing with depression because of the loss of her husband and she decides she can’t take it anymore. Because of this, Aubrey’s mom walks out on her one early morning without a warning, note, or even a phone call. Eventually, Aubrey’s grandma comes to her house one day and finds her alone in the house. Aubrey continues her life at her grandma’s house and as you read, you see that Aubrey has to live a completely different life. It’s already put enough stress on Aubrey having to deal without her family, getting used to a new school, and making new friends. The last thing she needs is for her mom to show up at her grandma’s house one night, out of nowhere, after all these months of just forgetting about Aubrey.

Aubrey has to make a huge choice, will she stay with her grandma or go with her mom? You’ll just have to read this book to find out!

I chose this book because it’s a book I really enjoyed, and in some ways I can relate to how Aubrey feels about losing these important family members, because of the loss of my great-grandma when I was in 4th grade. This book really kept me reading and I liked it because it could be intense in some ways and I like books that I can relate to. My favorite part about it was seeing all the choices Aubrey had to make and watching her progress and get used to a different life.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes unexpected twists and intense feelings. Even though a girl stars as the main character, I would recommend this book to boys, girls, and even adults. This book may be a quick read, but it’s a book that anyone could enjoy.

 

One Response to “7th Grade Guest Blogger – Kora M.”

  1. Sheila Kelly Welch Says:

    Hi,

    I like your review of this book. You gave me enough information to interest me but not enough to spoil the story. Guess I’ll have to read it!


Leave a Reply

